IEC Thomas A. Edison Award recipients

Outstanding contributions by current IEC Officers recognized

By Janice Blondeau

Five of the seven laureates of the IEC 2012 Thomas A. Edison Award were honoured during the IEC General Meeting week in Oslo in October.


Keeping alive the Thomas Edison spirit

Each year the Thomas A. Edison Award recognizes exceptional achievements in the management of IEC standardization and conformity assessment activities by current TC/SC officers (Chairman, Secretary or Assistant Secretary of a Technical Committee or Subcommittee) and officers of the IEC Conformity Assessment Systems and their subsidiary bodies.

The award was created in 2010 and a maximum of nine IEC Thomas A. Edison Awards per year may be granted by the management bodies – SMB (Standardization Management Board) andCAB (Conformity Assessment Board). Seven of these are reserved for TC/SC officers and up to two for officers in the conformity assessment bodies. To be nominated for an award, TC and SC officers must be active in IEC work and they must have made an outstanding contribution to IEC systems and international standardization work that assists the committee’s key stakeholders and helps the committee to work more effectively.

Awards granted by SMB

The 2012 laureates who received their award during the SMB meeting in Oslo are:

Derek Johns, New Zealand

Chairman, IEC TC 61: Safety of household and similar electrical appliances

Derek Johns is one of the longest serving IEC Committee Chairs and was recently reappointed for a sixth term as Chair of IEC TC 61. He has been actively involved in standardisation work for the electrical appliance industry for the past 37 years, and has held many positions at both regional and international levels.

Yaping Li, KETOP Lab, China

Chair, IEC TC 95: Measuring relays and protection equipment

Dr. Yaping Li is the first person to have taken on the role of chair in an IEC TC on behalf of China.

Etsuji Sugita, Hakusan Manufacturing, Japan

Secretary, IEC SC 86B: Fibre optic interconnecting devices and passive components

Dr Etsuji Sugita has held the position of Secretary of Subcommittee 86B, since 2003, when the Japanese National Committee accepted to host the secretariat. His dedication and contributions to the field of standardization, interoperability and reliable performance of fibre optic interconnecting devices and passive components have been recognized by the Thomas A. Edison award.

Two of the laureates distinguished by the SMB could not be present in Oslo and will received their award at a later date: Karen Higginbottom, Chair, ISO/IEC JTC 1: Information technology, and Claire Vincent, Secretary, IEC TC 78: Live working.

Awards granted by CAB

The two CAB-nominated Thomas Edison awardees for 2012 are:

Kerry McManama, Underwriters Laboratories, United States

Kerry McManama, General Manager of global hazardous locations at UL, currently serves as Chairman of IECEx, the IEC System for Certification to Standards Relating to Equipment for Use in Explosive Atmospheres.

David W. Smith

David W. Smith, currently serves as Chairman of IECQ, the IEC Quality Assessment System for Electronic Components.

derek_johns Derek Johns, New Zealand
li_yaping Yaping Li, KETOP Lab, China
etsuji_sugita Etsuji Sugita, Hakusan Manufacturing, Japan
kerry_mcmanama Kerry McManama, Underwriters Laboratories, United States
david_w_smith David W. Smith