Council Statutory session

Report on elections, appointments and other statutory issues

By Claire Marchand

Council, the supreme governing body of the IEC, held its meeting on Friday 25 October 2013 during the IEC General Meeting in New Delhi, India.

Klaus Wucherer, IEC President, and Frans Vreeswijk, IEC General Secretary and CEO

Statutory issues concerning the election/appointment of

  • The SMB (Standardization Management Board) Chairman and IEC Vice-President
  • Five Members of the CB (Council Board)
  •  Nine Members of the SMB
  • Four Members of the CAB (Conformity Assessment Board)

Other principal items on the agenda

  •  The General Secretary’s report (see separate e-tech article)
  •  Financial matters
  • Reports from the Council Board, including reports from the IEC Vice-Presidents on SMB, MSB and CAB activities (see separate e-tech articles on SMB, MSB and CAB)
  •  Forthcoming GMs (General Meetings)

Before moving on to the meeting’s agenda items, Council expressed its warm appreciation to all members of the Organizing Committee and the Indian NC (National Committee) for their excellent organization of the 77th IEC General Meeting and for the generous hospitality extended to IEC delegates in New Delhi.

Election results

Election of the Chairman of the SMB and Vice-President of the IEC

Council re-elected James E. Matthews III from the United States as Chairman of the SMB and IEC Vice-President for a three-year term of office (2014-2016).


Council elected / re-elected five financial Group A members of the CB for a three-year term of office (2014-2016):

  •  Olivier Gourlay (France)
  •  Keiji Kimura (Japan)
  •  Graeme Philp (United Kingdom)
  •  Philip M. Piqueira (United States)
  •  Markus Reigl (Germany)


Council appointed / reappointed as Automatically Appointed Members of the SMB for a three-year term (2014-2016):

  •  Hervé Rochereau (France)
  •  Thomas Sentko (Germany)
  •  Cristina Timò (Italy)
  •  Shuji Hirakawa (Japan)
  •  Anne Humberstone (United Kingdom)
  •  Alec McMillan (United States)

The SMB Members elected / re-elected for a three-year term of office (2014-2016) were:

  •  José Sebastião Viel (Brazil)
  •  Jos Rémy (Netherlands)
  •  Alexander V. Zazhigalkin (Russian Federation)


The CAB Members elected / re-elected for a three-year term of office (2014-2016) were:

  •  Ian Forte (Australia)
  •  Marcos Aurélio Lima de Oliveira (Brazil)
  •  Didier Bourges (France)
  •  Tim Duffy (United States)

Financial matters

Ake Danemar, IEC Treasurer, reported on the financial situation of the IEC.

Council approved the audited accounts of the Commission for the financial year 2012 as well as the 2014 budget and the distribution of national dues for 2014.

Future General Meetings

  • 78th General Meeting
     Tokyo, Japan, 10 to 14 November 2014, hosted by the Japanese NC
  • 79th General Meeting
     Minsk, Belarus, 12 to 16 October 2015, hosted by the Belarus NC
  • 80th General Meeting
     Council formally accepted the invitation of the German NC to host the 2016 General Meeting in Frankfurt from 10 to 15 October.

Although Council can only officially accept invitations from National Committees up to three years in advance, many Members have already declared their intention to host a future IEC GM:

  • 81st General Meeting
     The Russian Federation has stated its intention to invite the IEC for the 2017 GM

Thereafter, the National Committees of the Republic of Korea, China, Sweden and the United States have expressed an interest in hosting the GM in the years 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2022 respectively.

DSC_1201 Klaus Wucherer, IEC President, and Frans Vreeswijk, IEC General Secretary and CEO
DSC_1202 Åke Danemar, Treasurer, Jim Matthews, Vice-President and SMB Chairman, and Hiromichi Fujisawa, Vice-President and CAB Chairman
DSC_1160 The Council Statutory Session was held in the Plenary Hall at Vigyan Bhawan Conference Centre