Nominations and extensions

TC 11 welcomes its new Chairman

By Zoé Smart

SMB (Standardization Management Board) has approved the nomination of Giovanni Pirovano as Chairman of IEC TC 11: Overhead lines for the period 1 November 2013 to 31 October 2019.

Giovanni Pirovano is the new Chairman of TC 11

About Giovanni Pirovano

Currently head of the research group ‘Electrical Technologies and Components’ for RSE (Ricerca sul Sistema Energetico) SpA, Pirovano has no less than 25 years’ experience in research, testing, consulting and standardization activities on overhead lines and relevant components.

He has provided his expertise as consultant for a number of international bodies, such as UNMIK (United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo) and the Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development and is author of a large number of technical papers.

He takes over as Chairman of TC 11 from Romeo Rendina.

Extensions of terms of office and new member to ACEE

SMB has approved the extension of term of office of Alasdair M Anderson as Chairman of TC 18: Electrical installations of ships and of mobile and fixed offshore units. Anderson’s new mandate runs from 1 December 2013 to 30 November 2016.

The SMB has also approved the extension of the term of office of Jos Remy as Chairman of TC 108: Safety of electronic equipment within the field of audio/video, information technology and communication technology, for the period 2014-02-01 to 2017-01-31.

Philippe Volletas has been approved by SMB as TC 23: Electrical accessories, member to ACEE (Advisory Committee on Energy Efficiency).

GPIROVANO Giovanni Pirovano is the new Chairman of TC 11
maritime TC 18 prepares standards for electrical installations and equipment of ships and of mobile and fixed offshore units
SmartGrid1 copy ACEE coordinates IEC TC activities related to energy efficiency