2016 IEC Awards

Recognizing excellence and commitment to the IEC

By Claire Marchand

Every year the IEC honours the commitment and work of a number of individuals in its community who, through their leadership and technical expertise, have contributed to making products and electrical systems safer, more energy efficient, more reliable and more compatible.

Lord Kelvin Award Lord Kelvin Award

Lord Kelvin Award – the highest distinction of the IEC

Created and first bestowed in 1995, the IEC Lord Kelvin Award is named after the IEC first President, William Thomson, Lord Kelvin. It is the highest tribute of the IEC and is awarded in recognition of the long-term technical contributions that outstanding individuals have made to the Commission. 

Nominations for the Lord Kelvin Award can be made by IEC National Committees (NCs), Technical Committee and Subcommittee (TC/SC) Chairs, and members of the Council Board (CB), Standardization Management Board (SMB) and Conformity Assessment Board (CAB). They submit their proposals based on their recognition of contributions made over time, irrespective of the nationality or technical area of the nominee. 

To date, 34 laureates have received the Lord Kelvin Award. To qualify, candidates must still be active in the IEC and have contributed significantly to IEC work over more than five years. The award honours exceptional leadership and technical contributions to international electrotechnical standardization, Conformity Assessment (CA) or related activities. It recognizes the role of the awardee in promoting the image of the IEC worldwide and contributions to global trade and industry. 

Uwe Kampet to receive the 2016 Lord Kelvin Award

The 2016 laureate is Uwe Kampet of Germany. A ceremony will be organized during the IEC General Meeting in Frankfurt, Germany, on 11 October 2016. He is to receive his gold medal, gold lapel pin and certificate from IEC President Junji Nomura. 

For more than 20 years, Uwe Kampet has played a major role in IEC standardization and conformity assessment work. 

From 2004 to 2015, Kampet was Chair of CIS/F: Interference relating to household appliances tools, lighting equipment and similar apparatus, a Subcommittee of CISPR, the international special committee on radio interference. Prior to that, he was the German head delegate to CIS/F from 1998 to 2004. 

Since 2014, he has been Convenor of IEC TC 106 Maintenance Team (MT) 62233 dealing with measurement methods for electromagnetic fields of household appliances and similar apparatus with regard to human exposure. 

Kampet has been the German CAB Member since 2012. He was also Convenor of CAB Working Group (WG) 16: Systems Approach, from 2012 to 2015. Since 2007 he has been the German industry representative to the IECEE Certification Management Committee (CMC), the IECEE Policy and Strategy Committee (PSC) and the IECEE WG 8: System deliverables. 

At the national level, Kampet has been a member and Chair of several German mirror technical and CA committees for many years. 

Thomas A. Edison Award

Created in 2010, the annual Thomas A. Edison Award recognizes exceptional achievements of TC/SC officers and their IEC Conformity Assessment Systems counterparts. 

To be nominated, TC and SC officers need to be active in IEC work. They must also have made an outstanding contribution to IEC systems and international standardization work, helping their committees to work more effectively on behalf of key stakeholders. The Award is given to up to nine recipients each year by the SMB and the CAB. Seven of these are reserved for TC/SC officers, and a maximum of two for officers in the CA bodies. 

In 2016, the SMB chose six TC/SC Officers: 

  • Robert Arseneault, Secretary of TC 4: Hydraulic turbines
  • Giovanni Cassinelli, Secretary of SC 23E: Circuit-breakers and similar equipment for household use
  • Geoffrey S. Ibbott, past Chair of SC 62C: Equipment for radiotherapy, nuclear medicine and radiation dosimetry
  • Yoshiaki Ichikawa, Chair of TC 111: Environmental standardization for electrical and electronic products and systems
  • Maurice Montavon, Secretary of TC 5: Steam turbines
  • Bernd Sisolefsky, past Chair of CIS/B: Interference relating to industrial, scientific and medical radio-frequency apparatus, to other (heavy) industrial equipment, to overhead power lines, to high voltage equipment and to electric traction 

The 2016 IEC Thomas A. Edison Award laureates will receive their honours from IEC Vice-President and SMB Chairman Jim Matthews during the SMB session at the 2016 IEC General Meeting in Frankfurt. 

The CAB will bestow the Award on: 

  • Marie-Elisabeth d’Ornano, Chair IECQ
  • Heribert Schorn, IEC Coordinator in ISO CASCO WGs, representing IEC interests in ISO CASCO 

1906 Award

The IEC 1906 Award was established in commemoration of the Commission’s foundation in that year and honours technical experts around the world whose work is fundamental to the IEC. Each year a maximum of five awards may be granted per TC, including its various subcommittees. 

A total of 152 experts from 50 TCs (including ISO/IEC JTC 1) and 12 experts from the four CA Systems, representing 22 NCs. were nominated to receive this year’s 1906 Award. It recognizes exceptional recent achievements that contribute in a significant way to advancing the work of the Commission.

Lord Kelvin Award Lord Kelvin Award
Thomas A Edison Award Thomas A. Edison Award
1906 Award 1906 Award